A Momentary Lapse

My partner and I are moving into a new-to-us house this week – a 100 year old Victorian that will be in a constant state of refurbishment for the next 100 years or so of our lives.  This move requires not only the normal packing and schlepping of stuff, but also the relocation of our four cats and two dogs – always an adventure in and of itself.

Add to this major transition and discord at the church I work at/attend, which is causing a lot of heartache, the arrival of the holidays and all the chaos they bring, my back injury finishing its healing process, and my acceptance into grad school and preparations for that – including finding funding, and my stress level is pretty much off the charts.

And then you can top it all off with the supposed end of the world coming on December 21st (cue R.E.M.).

Needless to say, I’ve been desperately looking for ways to slow myself down and get back to my center of calm and peace.  I’m attending meditation group this afternoon after a month of absence, I sat down at a piano and wrote a new song for the first time in a long time, and I finally sat down to do some knitting after a long, long break.  In between work and meetings and packing and cleaning yesterday, I forced myself to take short breaks, spent with friends or doing something just for me, recharging each time to enable me to get up and continue with the hard stuff.  I even got a short nap in.  (Naps make the world go ’round!)

I noticed that if I had a much-hated chore to do, it went by very quickly with a promised reward of 5 minutes on my iPad playing solitaire and a dark chocolate Lindt truffle.

Yum.

Anyway, I know this time of year can be stressful for many reasons for many people.  And life in general can just be crazy.  I encourage you to make moments for yourself to just breathe and make yourself still, not necessarily physically, but mentally.  In whatever ways work for you, in whatever energies recharge your soul, please remember to love yourselves, and who knows, if you slow down for a minute you may just catch a glimpse of something you would otherwise have missed.

PS – I don’t really believe the end of the world is coming.  I do, however, believe we are approaching a global “shift”.  For more information and some really cool stuff, check this out:

About Shay MacKay

I'm a left-handed lesbian living in an abundant, beautiful world full of people slowly re-discovering their own divinity. A music maker, book reader animal lover and nature explorer attempting to live each day with a little more love and light. View all posts by Shay MacKay

Leave a Reply

spirituwellness

bodies, faith, politics

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

soul-in-progress

the dance of belonging

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Reflections on Chaplaincy

Thank you for following me through seminary and beyond.

The Bridge of Silver Wings 2016

Logging flights of inspiration, challenges, poetry, faith, love, hope, joy and other beautiful human foibles explored in the book "The River of Winged Dreams."

Visionary Insights

Inspirational Wisdom about Spiritual Growth and World Events from a Practical Visionary

Called To Be

Join Rev. Mark Fuss on a journey in ministry

Luke Storms

Writing and Web-Development

Tracy Cochran

Parabola Editor Blogs

