Ministry of Presence

image_preview

I’ve become a bit of a podcast junkie, listening whenever I’m in the car.  I especially enjoy the storytelling shows and one of the best is UnFictional from KCRW.  A recent episode showcased the memories of a man who was a chaplain for 95 death row inmates in Texas.  It is very, very powerful.  Give it a go, but this is not light listening.  Be prepared.

 

Ministry of Presence – UnFictional on KCRW.

 

In this past November’s election, here in California we voted on a proposition to remove the death penalty that in the end was defeated.  Amidst celebrations for other election results, I was saddened by this defeat of Prop 34.  I could list all the reasons why I believe we should repeal the death penalty, but I think it’s more convincing to hear from those who have had direct contact with it.  Here’s a story from another of my favorite podcasts – Snap Judgment.  There’s a bit of music before the story starts, so be patient.

 

 

I realize I’ve laid a lot of heavy stuff out there already, but I have one more story on this topic.  Not quite as intense as the first two, but still very moving.

 

 

I don’t have any easy alternatives to the death penalty, but I have to believe that there are some out there.  If these three stories haven’t changed any minds, I hope that they at least have shown that the power of presence, faith and forgiveness prove that sometimes it is possible for people to change and each of us can make a difference in one person’s life, no matter how hopeless that life may seem.

About Shay MacKay

I'm a left-handed lesbian living in an abundant, beautiful world full of people slowly re-discovering their own divinity. A music maker, book reader animal lover and nature explorer attempting to live each day with a little more love and light. View all posts by Shay MacKay

Leave a Reply

spirituwellness

bodies, faith, politics

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

soul-in-progress

the dance of belonging

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

Reflections on Chaplaincy

Thank you for following me through seminary and beyond.

The Bridge of Silver Wings 2016

Logging flights of inspiration, challenges, poetry, faith, love, hope, joy and other beautiful human foibles explored in the book "The River of Winged Dreams."

Visionary Insights

Inspirational Wisdom about Spiritual Growth and World Events from a Practical Visionary

Called To Be

Join Rev. Mark Fuss on a journey in ministry

Luke Storms

Writing and Web-Development

Tracy Cochran

Parabola Editor Blogs

